seminary

So that last post was a little hateful, wasn’t it? Oh well. Needed to get it out.

In other news, I’ve started filling out my online application for seminary. In southern California. Yeah. Crazy.

But the more that I read about it, the more I’m totally excited to go! Minus the whole financial side of it. I need to figure out how a FAFSA works. Yeah, I got an entire degree without ever filling out a FAFSA. But now I’m on my own, so I should qualify for a bunch of aid. I’m hoping. I also emailed admissions again asking about housing and work on campus. Of course, once I started to apply, I found all the information I was looking for. But that’s ok. I really want to go and I really want to do this. Unfortunately, there’s NO way I’ll be able to afford to visit before I attend. Unless I figure out something really cheap and come into some money somewhere along the line. Maybe I could check out the deal on Allegiance Air. I hear that some trips run $29. Or $80. Still. That’s really cheap. Maybe I’ll have to do that. It would be good for me to visit before I really decide anything. This is an expensive decision to make without being really informed. But I tend to do that. I’m not overly analytical about this kind of stuff.

Like apartments. I was out apartment shopping yesterday with my roommate and if it wasn’t for her, I’d probably have settled for a little dumpy place. She’s way more analytical than I am. Whatev, though. Anyway, I digress.

So seminary. The program that I’m looking at is a Master of Arts in Recovery Ministry. Which is something I’ve wanted to do for SO LONG! I wanted to go to seminary before, when I was still with c., but I wanted to wait until he graduated college. I guess I could thank him now for releasing me from my obligation to him. So that I can do this. Horray!

Everything just seems to be falling into place for this. Apartment stuff, social stuff, job stuff. Yep, it’s pretty spectacular. I’m really excited. The thing is, though, I have to find another reference. One of the references I was GOING to use, I can’t because we haven’t known each other long enough. Sad day! He’s the pastor heading up the recovery ministry at my church and so I’ve gotten to know him a bit. Oh well. Speaking of which… I really need to sit down and talk to him about this before I start going too crazy, but I know that I need to get going on it. Fall quarter starts September 28. So I’ve got PLENTY of time. I can really make sure that everything is right and that my essays are wonderful and all the jazz. So yeah! Maybe when I go home for Easter, I’ll talk to my parents about this. Yeah, I haven’t said anything yet to them. I just needed time to process this and look at it on my own before getting bombarded by mom and dad about it. Well… mostly mom. She’s got one of the worst memories ever and she asks me the same questions over and over and over and over. It’s like, really? Are we HONESTLY talking about this AGAIN!? I mean, I love my mom, but still. That gets really old really fast.

Anyway, I digress again. I’m so unbelievably excited about this! I can’t EVEN tell you. HORRAY!

4 thoughts on “seminary

  1. Muppet Soul says:

    Hi there!1. It’s good to let it out – if not here, then where, right?2. Seminary school? explain! Now I’m worried I may just be monstrously offensive to you, lol. ( Monstrously offensive but with good intentions, promise).3. Hooray for southern california!

  2. courtney says:

    let me just remind you that i ended up at both of the colleges i went to without ever visiting them, and the decisions were made hastily– and while there was a lot i genuinely disliked about mn state, i don’t think i’d have been any happier elsewhere. it is possible to make an informed decision without physically seeing the school- and if it’s supposed to happen, it will. there’s a plan! :)i’m excited for you. california is even further away than north dakota/minnesota and i’d probably never see you ever again, but this would be so amazing for you 🙂

  3. Tabitha says:

    Cool! Where in California are you applying? I went to undergrad in Azusa.Love your blog! I’m adding you to my reader. 🙂

  4. Tabitha says:

    I know a bunch of people who went/go to Fuller! That’s really cool. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

