flooding


Once again, spring has arrived in the Red River Valley. How do we know this? The flooding hath begun.

We are completely accustomed to the river (The Red River) swelling every spring. But not quite so much as this year. It’s times like these that I love my community, I love my country. Citizens of the Fargo/Moorhead area have really stepped up to the plate sandbagging these past days as well as people from around the country! Sandbagging efforts began on Saturday, March 21 and we’ve been on 24 hour alert ever since. Yes, we have had sandbagging efforts going for 96 consecutive hours. And we’re on alert until Friday. Yes, seven full days to keep this river out of our homes.

The river is expected to crest on Friday. And current estimates are 42 feet. Perhaps maybe some of you remember the great flood of 1997 in Grand Forks? The river crested at 39.7 feet that year. That’s right. The current prediction is 2.3 feet HIGHER than in 97!!! Not good!

But I’m really optimistic about the whole thing. The way my community is pulling together for this, I know that it’s going to be fine. And even if the worst happens, I know that we’ll all pull together and get back on our feet. And if I hadn’t already logged 7 hours today, you better believe that I’d be out sandbagging now instead of blogging. But tomorrow, friends, I will be. Because this is my community, this is my home. I love it here. I promise, Fargo, I’ll be back for you. You are my love!

Leave a Reply

