nearing the end of my vacation…

It’s been a while since I’ve been on here – both reading and writing. Mostly because there just doesn’t seem to be much to write about, but also because my motivation to stay current has dwindled in the past month. Call it vacationitis or something. It’s not to say that I haven’t done anything worth mention in that time, it’s simply that I haven’t mentioned it.

So I graduated. Got a 4.0 my final semester. That’s three 4.0s in the past 4 semesters. I can totally handle that.The picture kinda sucks, but trust me, it says that.

I also turned 25 on May 21st. We didn’t get raptured and the world didn’t end or anything crazy like that, so I guess I’m pretty happy about that. I get to experience that which is being 25. Should be fun I think.

I also completed my first half marathon on my birthday, which was pretty awesome too. I ran the 5k the night before (which I will NEVER do again) and achieved both my goals for the half. Goal 1) Finish alive. Goal 2) Finish in under 2.5 hours.

I have to admit. I’m really happy with it. I was disappointed at first because I crashed SO hard during the half. Apparently not quite enough training and running the 5k the night before certainly didn’t help matters any. However, now that I’m a few days out, I feel really good about it and I feel really proud. I DID IT!!! I also have 3 medals to show for it, which is triple awesome – a 5k medal, a half marathon medal, and the ‘Go Far Challenge’ medal (run the 5k and either the half or full marathon).

I’m approaching a month off from school and doing anything productive and I’m just starting to get that itch to do stuff – like go for a run. I’m not going to do that because I’m taking 2 full weeks off before starting to run again. My body is TIRED, I can really feel that. There’s only so much lazy-ing around that I can do before I’m ready to be done being lazy and start being productive again. We’re heading to New York City next Monday and we’ll be back on Saturday. Once we get back, I’ll start running again AND job hunting. I have to admit, I’m nervous about that. I want to get a decent job and preferably one in my field or area of interests. It’s just really nerve wracking for me to put myself out there and hope that I’ll be worth hiring.

Fortunately, there’s no REAL rush for me to get a job as long as I’m actively searching and applying. We are doing just fine on one income. I’m glad about that because it takes a LOT of pressure off me to find something. I can really take my time and look around and see what’s out there. Of course, I’m going to have to build up the old resume and figure out how the heck to write a cover letter and all that business, but I think I can handle that. Like I said, I’m itching to be productive again, so it will be a nice change of pace. I like having the time to be able to be lazy just about until I can’t handle it anymore because then I think I’m more productive when it comes time to be so. I think I’ll search harder, work harder and all that while trying to find a job. I’ll go out for runs more. Everything. I feel recharged. I feel ready to start. I’m excited to see where things are going to go since they obviously didn’t go where I thought they would/should. This should be a pretty fantastic journey!

2 thoughts on “nearing the end of my vacation…

  1. kim says:

    Congrats on the grades and the half marathon! You’re super woman!

Leave a Reply

