trying new things…

I mentioned a post or two back that I ran a half marathon. And survived. I’m now training for a 10k with one of my friends who just happens to live 3 hours away. And so is the 10k. Fortunately, it’s not until August and I *should* be able to go. The only thing standing between me and that 10k is learning how to run.

Okay, maybe I don’t have to learn how to run again, but I do need to learn a different stride. Why? Because I’m a terrible heel-striker when I run. That means the first thing to come in contact with the pavement is my heel. That’s not good. At least according to people who run in minimalist shoes. Yes, I finally caught onto the minimalist shoe trend, only about 2 years behind. That’s actually pretty typical for me. I don’t jump on any bandwagon right away simply out of principle. I’m that person, I know.

So the shoes I wore during my half are these lovely darlings:

I found out the hard way that I cannot run those kind of distances in these shoes. At least not without learning how to run properly. My toes were hurting the ENTIRE race and all sorts of other aches and pains related directly to the shoe and how I was running improperly. Now, I’m training in these darling shoes:

They are a bit more shoe than the 5-fingers, but I think I’m actually okay with that. The thing about minimal shoes is that you kinda have to learn how to run on the balls of your feet. Basically, your forefoot strikes the ground first. The only problem is that it works an entirely DIFFERENT set of muscles to run that way. Like, I could barely walk for 2 days after running less than a mile like that (and playing catcher the day after for 2 softball games PROBABLY didn’t help, but whatever. Details.).

I made it a mile and a half today and actually felt pretty good during it. My throat and lungs seemed to be less ready for this run than my legs. That could also be because I was running significantly faster than I ever ran before. That’s a nice side effect of this new style. I run much faster with half the effort. Talk about WIN!

I’m definitely excited to see where this new running form takes me. Who knows? I may even start doing yoga again for strength and flexibility. I had good intentions to do it this week because I couldn’t run, but I also could barely walk. We’ll try again next week.

In other news, early next week I should be submitting my application for a job! Full-time. Benefits. Everything. Scary, but really exciting.

4 thoughts on “trying new things…

  1. Renee says:

    There’s a running store here owned by two former Olympic runners. They won’t even sell the five finger shoes. They say they’re actually really bad to run in.

    • cari says:

      I’m jealous that you live by a store with such experienced owners. I’d LOVE to pick their brains. Not much here in Fargo for real running shoe expertise.

      • Renee says:

        They’re both Canadian, but they lived in Michigan before moving here. Based solely on personal experience, I believe there is a law somewhere that everyone who lives in Michigan at any time must move to Tallahassee. 🙂

  2. Ada says:

    I admire your running so much. I’ve always wanted to be a writer but have never had much success with it. Glad you’ve found a shoe that suits you better!

Leave a Reply

