random thoughts…

  • I’m trying to get up the motivation to go for a run this morning before it gets too darn hot outside, but I am just really tired. It seems both mentally and physically. I think it may have something to do with my dreams.
  • I had a dream that several people I know got pregnant. The Ex’s sister was one. Another was a bloggy friend. A third was an IRL friend. All by boyfriends. I think I had this dream for one of three reasons: 1) I’m pregnant; 2) I’ve got baby on the brain really bad; or 3) I spent a good portion of last night before bed perusing baby shower items for a baby shower I’m going to in a couple weeks. I’m going with option 3 as the explanation.
  • I also had a dream about a really weird bus trip to a track meet. There were LOTS of people on that bus and many of them were nonrunners. It was really strange. I have some really weird dreams sometimes. Even the running dream didn’t really put me in the mood to run, at least not after I woke up.
  • We got these new black-out curtains and I’m not really sure how I feel about them. At night, they’re great, but in the morning, they mess with my mind a lot – my brain thinks it’s a lot earlier than it really is and therefore, doesn’t wake up well. That’s probably the reason I’m feeling a little zombie-ish right now. I forced myself to get up because I knew I didn’t want to just sleep the day away. Also, I wanted to get my run in before it got too hot.
  • We have the air conditioning on for DAYS now and I am just about at the end of my rope with it. It’s so darn dry in this apartment and it doesn’t distribute the air very well so it’s freezing in the living room, but pretty warm in the bedroom and in the computer room. I decided that I needed a little fresh air today, so I opened up the windows and turned off the air. It’s supposed to be pretty hot and humid today, so I’m sure I’m going to have to shut everything up and turn it back on, but not for a while. I like fresh air.
  • I repotted the plant I got for my wedding. It’s in a nice big pot now. I’ve babied that plant since I made it sit through a windy day here and it pretty much lost every leaf. It looks pretty good now, but I do feel like a neglectful owner leaving it outside. I know it needs the heat and humidity, so that’s why it’s out there, but I’m still afraid of it losing all its leaves again. Hopefully the nice big pot will help it to grow big and strong so then I don’t have to worry so much about it.
  • Also, if I worry this much about plants, does it mean I’m going to drive myself bonkers worrying about my kids?
  • I was googling/youtubing yoga stuff for my yoga on the off days item on the list and ended up finding some chick who’s really obsessive about working out. I mean, she is BUFF and does a LOT of stuff with no extra equipment. I like that and I like her exercises, but she definitely makes me feel like a chub. That I don’t like. I know that she works out every day and probably follows some special diet and all this other stuff I’m not willing to do, but still. I really dislike girls who make me feel like that. I’m still going to try some of her stuff whenever I get the motivation for that.
  • Maybe I should just crawl back in bed and take a nap already to try to get rid of this morning zombieness. I don’t like it very much.
  • I still need to register for the 10k I’m running in Bismarck in August. And I’m running a 5k this weekend. It should be fun. I think this 5k will mark a year of serious training and getting back into running. I’m totally okay with that, too.
  • Sometimes I’m temped to do that laser hair removal on my legs just so I don’t have to deal with shaving. I’m far too lazy to keep up smooth legs. And the thought of waxing absolutely terrifies me.
  • I’ve been creeping lots of facebook pictures lately and for the most part, we were all chubby once. It makes me feel good that I wasn’t the only one who went through that stage.
  • Also, what is it in us humans that makes us think that we’re the “only one” who has ever gone through something? There are BILLIONS of people on the planet. Chances are pretty good that someone else is going through what we’re going through or HAS been through what we’re going through. Sometimes, we can be so ridiculous.

what are you thinking about today?

2 thoughts on “random thoughts…

  1. Emily Jane says:

    “Also, what is it in us humans that makes us think that we’re the “only one” who has ever gone through something? There are BILLIONS of people on the planet. Chances are pretty good that someone else is going through what we’re going through or HAS been through what we’re going through. Sometimes, we can be so ridiculous.” SO true… I read something about that in a book once on how very egotistical we can be; we are small specks on the face of the planet and chances are there are people who have gone through a LOT worse, yet we tend to enter catastrophe mode all too easily!

    • cari says:

      I definitely don’t want to minimize people’s problems, but this ‘I’m the only one’ business is pretty ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

