running is hard…

…and I’m not sure why I continue to forget this little fact.

I’m sure that it has something to do with having effortless runs sometimes. Like, yesterday for example. I ran 4 miles, easy peasy, not even tired when I was done. I even managed to slip in under the time I wanted to. Bonus.

Then today, it seemed like the most difficult 3 mile run of my LIFE! When I got done, though, I beat my desired time by just over 2 minutes. I realized (again) that in order to get better and faster, I have to push myself. Of course, running more than 2 days a week would help with that, too. I am still adjusting to the 40-hour workweek and trying to figure out when I want to plug in my weekday runs. Sometimes I get one in, but most of the time, I don’t. Given that fact, I know that I need to make the most of these 2 runs I AM doing, and I think this weekend, I really succeeded.

I’ve been working on my form little by little. I know it’s better than it used to be, but I think at this point, it’s the best it’s going to be. I have to be in better shape to continue with this journey. Of course, I also have to remember that it’s simply going to take time. I’ve run one way for so long that running a different way isn’t going to change overnight. Also, I’ve got lingering softball injuries that are just annoying (another part of the reason I’m only running 2 days a week).

I’m running part of a marathon relay in a month and I’ve taken the first leg, which is the longest and hardest leg – 6.25 miles and the last mile is all uphill, elevation change of 150 meters. Oof. Now I can’t really picture how much change that is in my head, and I’m not entirely sure I want to, but the really tough part is that the hill is a MILE long. That’s the killer part.

All in all, though, I’m really excited about it. I’m one of those weird people who gets jazzed up about really tough running stuff and overcoming it. I’ll be dead when I’m done with my leg of the race, but I’ll feel awesome because I accomplished it – at least the few moments before I die. Haha.

I do feel great, though, because I have found my passion for running again. I’m not afraid of injuries. I can afford to race every now and then. I have friends with whom I can run. It’s pretty amazing. I’m definitely looking up and up for more challenging and fun races. Perhaps I’ll attempt my first marathon next year. Or even my first ultra, which I’m half-thinking about. I know I should probably go small and just hit the marathon and try for an ultra the following year, but who knows? The most important things are that I’m having a good time and that the husband supports my crazy passion for this sport and the increasing challenges. I really couldn’t do all this without him.

So what about you? What are your crazy passions?

10 thoughts on “running is hard…

  1. Renee says:

    The last 5K I did was all downhill the first mile and then all uphill (the same hill) the last mile. I ran all the first two miles and definitely walked most of the last.

    I hope this gets better when the weather gets cooler and less humid, but it seems like my times are getting worse, not better, and running is becoming more difficult than when I first started. Very frustrating!

    Good luck with your relay!

    • cari says:

      I’ve run for quite some time and I have all these memories of running not being all that hard. Just a bad memory on my part? I don’t know. I think that we all go through seasons of being better or being worse and the key is to just keep on going, no matter what.

  2. ashley says:

    You’re trying to run more, and I’m trying to create more! Cheers to us both ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Deidre says:

    UGh, I don’t know how you do it, running makes me absolutely miserable. I try to challenge myself in yoga as much as possible though…I am working towards being able to do the splits and on my inner core so I work on arm balances and stuff.

    • cari says:

      I definitely need to start working on my strength, especially now that I’m working and I find myself tired ALL the time. I know that getting stronger will make me a better, faster and more efficient runner.

      I love yoga, and sadly, I don’t do enough of it. Hopefully in the future, I will be able to challenge myself more to do it.

  4. kim says:

    I’ve never liked running. Even as a kid I never cared for it. But I’m always amazed at people that love it. I wish I could, because I know it could help clear my mind. But it’s just not me.

    I have become pretty addicted to my walks with Brooklyn in the morning, though. Even when they’re short, they’re so enjoyable.

    • cari says:

      walking is very similar to running – the activity is amazing at clearing one’s mind. I can’t wait to have a canine companion.

  5. Ada says:

    Running *is* hard! I’ve tried to be a runner many times over the years and frankly, it just doesn’t work for me. I really admire any runner I meet! Kudos to you!

    • cari says:

      It just doesn’t work for some people and I think it’s good for people to recognize it instead of trying to push and push and end up with injury after injury. I know people who think that EVERYONE can be a runner, they just have to try harder or get different shoes or something to that effect and then lo and behold! They will be transformed into a runner.

      I don’t buy that. I think that some people just can’t and whatever. Find something else you enjoy! Gardening anyone? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

