Things happen in their own time

Today is my 4th wedding anniversary. I can hardly believe it’s been 4 years.

Cari James2

I remember when we were planning, I matter of factly declared that we were NOT getting married in May. I didn’t want to get married in May because my birthday is in May, and naturally, the ENTIRE month should be dedicated to celebrating that, right?

As you can see, that didn’t work out too well for me.

I also remember saying that I didn’t want a December baby. Christmas is in December and I didn’t want to create one GIANT holiday for the child. Somehow having Christmas/birthday at the same time seems cheater-y. After all, kids who have birthdays between February and November are pretty much guaranteed a separate celebration.

So, yeah, see her? December 27th (3 weeks early). Beautiful from the start if you ask me. And, you know, lots of other people.

M17

We have been doing some remodeling in our house, as well. We have lived here for over 2 years and in that entire time, we’ve never been able to use the ENTIRE house. There has always been this one unusable room. We affectionately call it the Doom Room. We’re finally fixing the Doom Room (and other things), and it was supposed to be finished before April 1st.

We’re a little past that date.

I have been so excited to finish because then I could actually use the basement for the daycare instead of cramming everyone into my living room. Right now, I have three kids, two pack and plays (for naps), two dogs, various plants, and other typical living room furniture JAMMED in there. Oh yeah, and there’s a swath of floor for the kids to play in.

I am feeling very impatient about getting things done. I want to be gracious, oh I really do, and I can be outwardly, but on the inside I’m screaming “JUST BE DONE ALREADY!!!!!” However, I am learning some important lessons while in here. Time and space management of course, but learning how to be content in ALL situations. If Paul can be content beaten and in jail, I think I can be content with too much stuff in my living room for a month or so.

Crowded living room

I think the biggest thing I have learned through these (and many other experiences) is that things happen when they are meant to happen. Things happen in their own time.

I, and my husband would agree, have a patience problem. I am one of those people who gets an idea and then acts on it, thinking later. This is why I do some pretty dumb things, but at least they are mostly harmless. I get so excited by my ideas that it temporarily shuts off the logical reasoning section of my brain.

Fortunately for me, God has a sense of humor. He found it agreeable to match me with someone who has impeccable logical reasoning skills and has an exceptional talent of disagreeing with me. Perfect opposites.

nipple confusion

Of course, that is all for naught if I’m not willing to listen to what he has to say. I believe that’s the lesson that God intended for me to learn from James – listening to someone who has a different opinion than I have. Doesn’t it always seem to happen that way?

I suppose as we go along in life, we need to remember that people are placed in our lives for a reason. To mess up our plans. To keep us on our toes. To remind us that we are not in control. To show us that we need to trust God, who is in control. It’s a lesson I need daily.

When is the last time someone messed up your plans? Tell me about it.

 

 

 

One thought on “Things happen in their own time

  1. Anna says:

    your comment about birthday/anniversary is funny… Jim is pretty much doomed (and I guess James would be too) in the gift giving dept with me, Mothers Day, my birthday, and our anniversary all within 5 weeks of each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

