Where does a decade go?

I went to my 10 year high school class reunion recently.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I went, but when I left, I wasn’t surprised at the turnout and events of the day.

There was a fair amount of drinking, but I think I expected more. I expected more conversation with more classmates, but that is one of those things that is totally and completely up to me. I didn’t circulate as much as I could have. I chatted with a few. I had a really good chat with one or two. That was nice.

I did find it amazing how much I didn’t know about certain people and how hard it was to remember who was actually in our class that didn’t attend. We spend a HUGE portion of our lives with the same people and shortly after graduation, we lose track of them. Living in the digital age certainly helps to stay somewhat in contact, or at least cyber stalk the people we once knew.

I was most surprised to find that as I left, I didn’t really care one way or the other that I hadn’t kept in contact with these high school friends. I didn’t feel like I had missed out on anything. I didn’t feel like there were unresolved anythings. I was simply ready to continue living my life. It was nice to catch up, but I found that for the most part, I didn’t care too much what other people were doing. I was certainly interested in those who were continuing their education to the level I wish I could have. I was surprised that I was less interested in those in the same life stage as me – married and just having our first kids. I thought I would want to ask a hundred questions about their plans, but I think because I’m not actually friends with them, I didn’t really care.

I heard about an anti-reunion reunion at a local bar and frankly, couldn’t have cared less to swing in and see those people. Is it because it was at a bar or was it because I’m simply not friends with them? Probably a little bit of both. I find that I am less and less interested in hanging out with people who drink too much. I don’t want to hang out with drunk people. When BYOB is mentioned, I’m suddenly much less inclined to participate in a gathering. I certainly have nothing against those to who choose to drink at gatherings, but I just don’t want to be there. Conversation ceases to happen, yelling starts, and just generally idiotic behavior. I don’t find that amusing anymore.

As I reflected on my life and the direction it has gone and the experiences I’ve been through, I realize that I am completely content with my life. I actually don’t wish that I was living someone else’s life. I am not envious of other people’s kids or jobs or spouses or lives (okay, maybe a little envious of the one getting her doctorate). Overall, I am completely satisfied. I think I expected to leave much more dissatisfied with my life. To wish that I was living someone else’s life and had their experiences and envious the number of kids or dogs or titles or whatever.

Coming home was nice. Getting to see my friends. Sure, there are days when I don’t want to get up and I don’t want to be responsible and I want to be more free or something, but those are days, moments in my life. A lot of life has happened to all of us in the last 10 years and yet it seems to have gone by so very quickly. I hardly feel old enough to be here yet. I am happy for my classmates who are happy with where they are. I hope that the others find what they are looking for. For me, I know that I am exactly where I am supposed to be doing what I am supposed to be doing. It will be interesting to see what happens in another 10 years.

Leave a Reply

