The less sung heroes of stay at home moms

I’ve been a stay at home mom around the internet long enough to understand that stay at home moms rank up there somewhere with angels, Mother Theresa, and a free lifetime supply of coffee. Us living saints deal with the day in day out of raising children, poopy diapers (or rooms during nap time), temper tantrums, never ending dishes and laundry and vacuuming and feeding, getting kids here and there and everywhere, trying to make sure they don’t grow up to be sociopaths and serial killers, learning enough stuff to be ready for kindergarten, and hoping they eat a well enough balanced diet throughout at least a week all while making sure each living creature survives from waking up to bed time. It’s certainly no job description to sneeze at.

But you know who else makes this happen? The people who rarely, if ever, receive any accolades? The unsung hero of the stay at home mom?

Working dads.

Yeah, I said it. The men behind the scenes, going to work day in and day out, selflessly providing for their families. They sacrifice time with their kids, maybe seeing them for 3 hours on a weekday, so that us moms can stay home with them.

My two year old has a cough and cold and was up three different times last night and my six month old was up once to eat. Four times I was up with them, diagnosing, refilling water, doling out Tylenol, rubbing backs and checking foreheads, snuggling and feeding, doing whatever I could to help them fall back to sleep.

You know who else was woken up?

My husband.

You know who got up at 5:30 and went to work anyway?

My husband.

You know who packed up garbage bags and rolled the garbage can out to the curb before going to work?

My husband.

You know who got to sleep in until 7:30 today?

Me.

You know who gets to wear lazy sweatpants all day?

Me.

Real heroic I am.

The longer I am married and have children, the more respect grows up for my husband, who works every day so I can be home. My husband who helps with laundry and dishes and baths and dogs and chickens and vacuuming and building and fixing without me really having to ask or to nag. I don’t have to recount every detail of a rough day to justify him bringing home something for supper. He doesn’t complain when he gets home at 4:30 after a hard day and I haven’t planned supper and am sitting in a chair with a sleeping infant. He simply thinks up a simple supper and prepares it. Or he plays with our daughter while our son sleeps until I can make some.

While there is certainly nothing wrong with celebrating the hard road of stay at home momhood, we need to do a better job of celebrating our husbands who provide what we need to be able to stay home.

My husband is an amazing individual who works hard and loves much. He loves being a dad and playing with the kids. He enjoys stepping in and giving me a break. He supports everything I do that allows me out of the house occasionally to recharge my own batteries doing something that doesn’t necessarily involve the title of ‘mom’.

He is my less sung hero. He is the warrior of our family. He is who I want my son to be and my daughter to marry.

However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.      Ephesians 5:33

 

Leave a Reply

