If you can stress, you can pray

Man, it’s been a while again. I’ve had all kinds of things I want to say and yet have just never quite found the time to get in here and write them down. Life in our house has been very busy over the past few weeks.

We finally moved our chickens outside a couple weeks ago, on the 1st.

six little chickens all in a row

We had them in our dog’s unused kennel once they outgrew their rubbermaid brooding box. These darn girls kicked pine shavings chicken poop out everywhere in the laundry room! We were sweeping up crap at least two to three times per day. Needless to say, I was really happy when they finally graduated to being outside.

Chickens outside

They appear to really like the new coop and we find them roosting up on the various roosting bars, strutting around, and trying to eat the paint off the door. They are definitely liking their new space, though, and are thriving outside. That makes me very, very happy.

We have finally introduced them to outside and you can see them here, here, and here. The seem to only be brave enough to come outside when we’re around. We are okay with that right now because we haven’t completed the perimeter/yard expanding fence yet, but it will get done tomorrow. Then we can feel a little better about leaving the chicken door open when we’re not out there actively watching. We have wandering neighborhood dogs and cats and I would hate to have someone’s pet come and kill my chickens. So far, I tend to leave our dogs outside if I’m going in and leaving the chicken door open. At least that way, nothing’s coming onto our yard without some pretty hearty notice.

We’ve also been dealing with a some breathing/wheezing issues with my two year old, so we’ve been doing nebulizer treatments three times a day in addition to the regular home and house and daycare duties. We’ve also had a number of appointments for my son and his tongue tie that we also discovered earlier this month.

He just had his tongue and upper lip ties released yesterday and it didn’t seem to slow him down any, so that’s good. Plus we were all up pretty much all night and crazy early in the morning. On the plus side, everyone took really good naps AND slept through the night AND slept in late. However, I’d like to not make the up late part a regular routine.

I also strained my hip flexor about two weeks back and it really flared up again last weekend, so I’ve been off from running for a few days now to let that baby heal up. It’s amazing how much of your life is determined by a nice, healthy, functioning body. I feel that minor ache in my hip so much and there are times it can even affect how I walk! I’ve been trying to be good about being a little less active to really let it heal up so that I can be back out running early next week. I will have to take it easy for a week just to make sure I don’t re-reaggravate it. I have to say, though, the break from training just as all the kid issues were hitting was a blessing because it was simply one less thing I needed to worry about and try to fit into our busy schedule.

It’s definitely been a little stressful for me around here, but it’s all part of life. The big thing that I’ve been able to reflect on is being so grateful for friends to lean on and who will point me to prayer when I just want to sit, stare into space, and stress about everything. I have been reminded so many times to just stop and pray. If I have time and energy to stress, I have time and energy to pray.

I am hoping that now that the real craziness of May is over, I can be over here a little more writing and sharing. As it stands now, I hear my two precious kiddos upstairs hollering, chatting, coughing, and just generally alerting me to their awakened status.

 

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.  –Philippians 4:6 (MSG)
2 thoughts on “If you can stress, you can pray

  1. Just what I needed to read this weekend. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

