Recipe! – Chicken and mushroom creamy noodles

I inadvertently made a super delicious supper tonight. Of course, I always intend to make delicious food, but I don’t always cook from scratch like I did tonight and admittedly, the food isn’t always super delicious. Now, I want to share with all of you before I forget it! I know, it’s not the greatest picture. I didn’t think to take pictures or share this until well after I’d put the leftovers in the fridge.

delicious supper.jpg

While I was out running, I was thinking about ingredients we had laying around the house. We had chicken, cream of mushroom soup, canned mushrooms, yogurt, and cottage cheese. I’ve been binge watching Chopped on Netflix, so I feel like I need to justify it a little by cooking a little bit more. It’s even accidentally sort of healthy!

So here’s what I did:

2 chicken breasts
1 Tbsp butterPaprika
Cumin
Onion Salt

I sliced up the chicken and in the butter, quickly cooked it through generously seasoning it. I had to use the onion salt because I didn’t have any onions in the house and my dried onions were running low (and now I’m out!).

I took the chicken out and set it aside in a bowl. Then:

1 can mushrooms
1 can cream of mushroom
2 cloves garlic

I sauteed up the mushrooms a bit with the garlic and then tossed in the soup. Then I added:

1/2 box of chicken broth
2 c water (I didn’t actually measure, I’m just guessing here)
1 generous scoop of plain yogurt
1 generous scoop of cottage cheese
1 tbsp onion flakes (real onion would be better, I know!)
I simmered all of that together for a little bit (just a minute or two), added some salt, pepper, more cumin and paprika. I readded the chicken and stirred it all up.

Then I added a box of penne pasta into the pan to let it soak up all the juices.

I ended up adding another generous scoop of cottage cheese and yogurt and then added a splash of milk, maybe half a cup.

It turned out REALLY delicious!! I would definitely do some things differently though. I would have added more milk and probably something green. I think peas would have gone nicely with it and maybe even some cooked carrots. We pureed it up for the baby and he had two generous helpings and my nearly 3 year old devoured quite a bit too. Talk about high praise!!

So now that I have it all written out up there, I’ll add it down here in more traditional recipe format.

I’ve name it: Chicken and Mushroom Creamy Noodles (not terribly creative, I know)

2 chicken breasts
1 Tbsp butter
Paprika (maybe 2 or 3 tsp total)
Cumin (maybe 2 or 3 tsp total)
Onion Salt
1 can mushrooms
1 can cream of mushroom
2 cloves garlic
1/2 box of chicken broth (or the whole thing and less water)
2 c water (less if you use more chicken broth)
2 generous scoops of plain yogurt (probably 1/2 cup)
2 generous scoops of cottage cheese (probably 1/2 cup)
1 tbsp onion flakes (or finely chop up a medium sized onion, more if you like more onion)
2 cups milk
1 box penne noodles
Parsley
Chives
Frozen or fresh peas (optional)

Sautee chicken in butter with a generous amount of spices. Set aside.

In same pan, add mushrooms, soup, and garlic (fresh onion if you have it). Sautee for a few minutes, until onions are soft.

Add liquids and stir, bring to a boil. Add noodles. Add more spices as needed, salt and pepper to taste. Toss in peas (or other veggies) with a few minutes to go on noodles. Stir and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

